Mini cherry cheesecakes

July 28, 2006

 


Mini cherry cheesecakes, originally uploaded by elskermeg.

Today I finally decided to try out the mini cheesecake pan that I got on clearance from Crate and Barrel a while back. It came with a recipe, so I decided to try that before trying anything fancy. I did use a graham cracker crust rather than the one using ground nuts that they suggested. They were really easy to make and every single one of them turned out perfect (which doesn’t happen too often around here).

 

For this recipe you will need a mini cheesecake pan

Cherry Cheese Tarts

1 eight oz. package cream cheese, softened
1 egg
1 t. vanilla
1/4 C. sugar

Crust:
1 C. graham cracker crumbs
2 T. brown sugar
1/3 stick melted butter

Topping: Canned cherry pie filling (or whatever you prefer)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Blend cream cheese, egg, vanilla and sugar together in a medium bowl. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, mix graham cracker crumbs, sugar and butter until well combined. Divide mixture evenly between the 12 cups. Press crumbs on bottom and 1/3 up sides of each cup. Spoon cream cheese mixture into each cup (they will only be half filled).

Bake for 14 minutes. Remove from oven and place on rack to cool for 20 minutes. Carefully remove cheesecakes from pan and let cool completely. Top with cherries and refrigerate until ready to serve.

Enjoy!

5 Responses to “Mini cherry cheesecakes”

  1. rhino Says:

    sometimes i hate you…like when you post pictures of delicious food, while i’m at work and a bit hungry.

    but then its the oregon brewers festival this weekend…so i get to have lots of beer this weekend.

    (though you still trump with the whole italy thing)

  2. Sandy Says:

    I am going to try both of these. Made “store bought” sloppy joes a few weeks ago, and they were awful! My husband could eat a whole batch of these, for sure.

    If you enjoy writing haiku, here is the the group I joined. Seems to be a nice bunch of people, and I haven’t run across anyone for your area yet, you would be a nice addition.
    Here it is–
    http://onedeepbreath.blogspot.com/

  3. Pamela Says:

    Cheesecake is my favourite dessert of all time and these look shiny, gooey and scrumptious!


  4. I am only 12 and I would like to become a chef when I get older, and I especially like desserts! Cheesecake is one of my favorites, especially cherry cheescake! This makes me want to go out and buy a mini cheesecake pan!

  5. elskermeg Says:

    Two Special K, I think it great that you want to be a chef! My uncle went to culinary school in San Francisco and I wish I had a photo of one of his cheesecakes…they are the best I’ve ever had! I had never actually made cheesecake before these little ones. I have some big springform pans so I’ll try some regular sized ones someday. I actually prefer cheesecake with raspberry sauce…the cherries were for my husband 🙂


Leave a Reply

