R.I.P. Autumn Reading Challenge

September 4, 2006

rip-autumn-challenge.jpg

I haven’t been reading enough lately so I’ve decided to participate in the Readers Imbibing Peril (R.I.P.) 2006 Autumn Challenge hosted by Stainless Steel Droppings. The challenge is to choose five books that meet the broad criteria of “…being scary, eerie, moody, dripping with atmosphere, gothic, unsettling, etc. and vow to read them.” I think it sounds fun and although it takes a while for autumn to truly arrive in Sicily, I’m ready for some chills!

I decided to choose my reading list from my own bookshelf rather than purchase anything new. I have read all of these but it’s been a while and I have such a terrible memory that it will be like I’m reading everything for the first time anyway. All of the books on this list cannot be classified as “Gothic” and they aren’t all scary in the traditional sense but to me they all fit the criteria of being at least one of these things: scary, eerie, moody, dripping with atmosphere, gothic and unsettling.

So here’s the list:

  1. Beowulf translated by R.M. Liuzza
  2. The Turn of the Screw byHenry James
  3. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  4. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  5. Six Tales of Mystery and Imagination by Edgar Allen Poe (including: The Gold Bug, The Oblong Box, The Mystery of Marie Roget, The Fall of the House of Usher, The Murders in Rue Morgue, and The Pit and the Pendulum)

I don’t know which order I’ll choose for my Autumn reading. Knowing me, I’ll be reading 2 or 3 of them at any one time! Thanks to Bloglily for pointing me in the direction of this challenge!

8 Responses to “R.I.P. Autumn Reading Challenge”

  1. Carl V. Says:

    I am so glad that you are joining in! Very good choices for the challenge. Haven’t read Bronte or Beowulf or James but am interested in them all. The Poe stories are all terrrific.


  2. [...] down on sidebar to see) 28. Ruth’s list 29. Anne’s list 30. Petunia’s list 31. Wendy’s list 32. Deborah’s list 33. Susan’s list 34. Sherry (Semicolon)’s list 35.Amanda’s list 36. Amanda A.’s list 37. Heather (AKA Orange Blossom Goddess)’s list 38. Cam’s list (Cam’s Commentary) 39. Nicole’s list (Life in Sicily) [...]

  3. Trucie Says:

    wow, great list – like you I’ve read them all before but wuite some time ago – maybe now is a good time to revisit some as the nights start drawing in!

  4. bloglily Says:

    What a lot of fun reading. I kept wondering what you’d be cooking with that! xxoo, BL


  5. Heathcliff is deservedly as scary as Grendel!

  6. milli Says:

    nice blog yours
    …would you like to read mine…
    blogger.com and then letters from a sicilian summer…leave your comment please thanks

  7. albertkline Says:

    Good luck on the Autumn Challenge. I have a book review for ya at my blog, Chime in!
    Regards, Al


  8. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation :) Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Irrepressible.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

